Week 13 – Summary

It’s finally the last week of blogging! Woohoo!

 season 1 excited yes usa yay GIF
via GIPHY

To be honest, initially when I found out that we had to do weekly blogs for this module, I wasn’t really into it.

But I guess, oh well, since it is part of the assignment and I kinda like writing, I might as well just make the most out of it and enjoy, right?

After religiously blogging every week for the past 13 weeks, I must say that I’ve actually enjoyed the process of blogging! Through blogging, I was able to hone my writing skills and show a bit of my creativity. I guess those are my biggest takeaways from this module, besides learning a bit more about the Internet.

I’m feeling a tad bittersweet as I’m writing this; I’m happy and relieved that I’ve finally finished the blogging assignment, but sad that this would be my last post on this blog.

 anime sad crying scream tears GIF
via GIPHY

So anyway, here’s a recap of what I’ve learnt from the module for the past 13 weeks.

Week 1: realised that there’s so many things that I didn’t know about the Internet, including the fact that Internet (back then known as ARPANET) first went live in 1969.

Week 2: the benefits and risks of social media

Week 3: discovered social media management tools such as Buffer. I really didn’t know about the existence of these tools until that week.

Week 4:  e-commerce and its potential.

Week 5:  the various e-learning resources, such as Khan Academy.

Week 6 & 7:  the various Internet tools and edited a video.

Week 8: Internet security, such as learning what distributed denial of service (DDOS) really is.

Week 9: functions and characteristics of multimedia apps, including the cool VR and AR apps.

Week 10: what the Internet could be like in the future.

Week 11: characteristics of various Internet of Things, such as Fitbits. (Side note: I’m still wondering if we really need all these smart gadgets though, apart from smartphones.)

Week 12: more about Internet innovations, including what Google, Microsoft and Apple have been working on.

Through this course, I realised that the Internet is a double-edged sword. It provides so many benefits, but at the same time risks still exist, such as getting hacked. I guess as of now, it’s a relief that the benefits offered by the Internet outweigh its risks.

To end off things, here’s a compilation of funny vines (RIP Vine) that reminds us how entertaining the Internet can be.

4 thoughts on “Week 13 – Summary

Leave a Reply

